Monday, April 09, 2012

Tourism Leadership Members Announced

Tourism Leadership Committee appoints new members

The Nanaimo Economic Development Corporation (NEDC) is pleased to announce that the recent appointments to its Tourism Leadership Committee (TLC) have been ratified by the NEDC Board of Directors.

Mandated to provide visioning for the corporation’s tourism and destination marketing functions, this advisory committee was selected based on a skills matrix to ensure the representation is strong and has the knowledge and expertise needed to move projects forward.

The following 16 members have been appointed for a two-year term:

  • Dan Brady, Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel
  • Volker Grady, Coast Bastion Inn
  • Dave Ilyn, Buccaneer Inn
  • Nicole Vaugeois, Vancouver Island University
  • John Winter, Harbour Air Seaplanes
  • Bruce Avis, Citizen Advisory Committee for Correction Services Canada
  • Scott Littlejohn, Living Forest Oceanside Campground and RV Park
  • Dr. Kristenn Magnussen, Veterinarian
  • Don Dempson, Business Executive
  • Sandra Petryk, Nanaimo Airport
  • Dr. David Twynam, Vancouver Island University
  • Denise Tacon, Vancouver Island Conference Centre
  • Margot Holmes, Vancouver Island Symphony
  • Donna Vidal, CTV
  • Jen Bogwald, Meyers Norris Penny
  • Elizabeth Williams, City of Nanaimo Sport Tourism

As the official voice of the tourism industry in the Nanaimo region, the TLC will provide recommendations to the NEDC relating to strategy, marketing, focus, infrastructure gaps, regulatory issues and direction of efforts to improve and positively impact all aspects of the industry.

Dan Brady, Committee Chair, would like to thank the 32 strong applicants who put their names forward and he is “confident the new talent will bring with it new ideas and innovations to effectively position Nanaimo as a tourist destination.”


No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comment will appear after moderation before publishing,

Thank you for your comments.Any comment that could be considered slanderous or includes unacceptable language will be removed.

Thank you for participating and making your opinions known.