Tuesday, July 10, 2012

NYC Cutty Sark Regatta Results 2012

Weather Made For Challenging Race

Thanks to the efforts of numerous volunteers and sponsors the Cutty Sark Regatta was another success this year as the Nanaimo Yacht Club hosted this popular event.

The title sponsor of the event of course is Cutty Sark and Gold Sponsors included the Royal Bank and Nanaimo Shipyard as well as many sponsors in other categories.

The racers described the conditions as challenging at times which of course is affected by the weather which also was a factor in the lower than usual turnout. This year there were 31 boats in the event compared with the usual 50 - 60, with an all time high of 115 in past years.

The common consensus from participants was that they had a great time and the Nanaimo Yacht Club certainly knows how to put on a party and their hospitality is legendary.

Race Results By Division 
There were two one design divisions, the Martin 242's and the Melges 24.
Martin 242
1st place 'Daisy', sailed by Richard Spooner from Kitsilano Yacht Club
2nd place 'Crantine' sailed by Liane Kern from Royal Victoria Yacht Club
3rd place 'Blackadder' sailed by Ken Holland from Nanaimo Yacht Club

Melges 24
1st place 'Recidivist' sailed by Michael Bond from West Vancouver Yacht Club
2nd place 'Light Scout' sailed by Kirk Palmer from Royal Victoria Yacht Club
3rd place 'Root' sailed by Brent Foxall from Kitsilano Yacht Club

PHRF Div. 1
1st place 'Rags', C&C 115 sailed by Judy Button from Ladysmith Yacht Club
2nd place 'LawnDart' Santa Cruz 50 sailed by Bill Allan from Nanaimo Yacht Club
3rd place Cu na Mara C&C 115 sailed by Francis Walsh from Nanaimo Yacht Club

PHRF Div. 2
1st place 'Lickety Split' T-240 Sailed by Tom Stevens from Nanaimo
2nd place 'Scoundrel' Olson 30 sailed by Kieran Horsburgh from Maple Bay Yacht Club
3rd place 'DILLIGAF' Ross 930 sailed by Owen/Courtney from Nanaimo Yacht Club

PHRF Div. 3
1st place 'Synergy' Olson 34 sailed by Elaine Wade from Nanaimo Yacht Club
2nd place 'Brigadoon' Peterson 35 sailed by Ken Pike from Kitsilano Yacht Club
3rd place 'Sea Lion' Viking 33 sailed by Ken Lott from Schooner Cove Yacht Club

PHRF Div 4
1st place 'Andiamo' J24 sailed by James Volkers from Nanaimo Yacht Club
2nd place ''The Lounge' Cal 29 sailed by Bruce McQuade from Nanaimo Yacht Club
3rd place 'Nahanni' Thunderbird sailed by George Compton from Nanaimo Yacht Club


No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comment will appear after moderation before publishing,

Thank you for your comments.Any comment that could be considered slanderous or includes unacceptable language will be removed.

Thank you for participating and making your opinions known.