Sunday, July 27, 2014

Nanaimo Bathbub Race 2014 - Winners

Nathan Barlow dashes to shore with Shawn Lamareux right behind
Nathan Barlow, Shawn Lamareux, Mayor Ruttan
Shawn Lamareux (l) Nathan Barlow (r)

 Quick Times Turned In By Race Winners This Year

While Nathan Barlow officially finished mere seconds ahead of best friend and fellow competitor in a demonstration of true bathtubbing sportsmanship, waited for his good friend so they could officially ring the bell together.

The extremely low tide likely presented the most challenging part of the course for the men and women competing in this year's international bathtub race. After being folded up in a tiny bathtub for nearly 2 hours, jumping out onto the wet sand and rocky shore of Departure Bay beach and then racing up to the bell was not a feat for mere mortals. That said, a few competitors made it look like a sprint after a walk in the park.

Sea conditions were described as very good and the finishing times for the top contenders would seem to support that report.

Close Finishes

Mere seconds separated the first five to finish this years bathtub race:

1. Nathan Barlow 1hr. 14:20

2. Shawan Lamareux 1 hr. 14:30

3. Ross Elander 1 hr. 20:47

4. Rob Saywell 1 hr. 20:56

5. Brandon Leigh 1 hr. 21:10


No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comment will appear after moderation before publishing,

Thank you for your comments.Any comment that could be considered slanderous or includes unacceptable language will be removed.

Thank you for participating and making your opinions known.