Thursday, June 25, 2015

Gmail 30 Second Recall Option


Ever have sender's remorse?

The next time you put together an email telling your boss what you think of them and are struck with deep feelings of misgiving AFTER having hit the 'send' button ....... Gmail gives you 30 seconds to retrieve what could be a career-ending email.

The Undo Send is an option available to Gmail users which has to be enabled and you can set the amount of time for that sober second thought, or the chance to correct that typo you didn't see until after hitting the send button.

In the "Settings" you'll be given the option "Enable Undo Send" along with a drop-down that allows you to select from 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds of time to grab that email before it is forever in the hands of the intended.

Of course for those of us not using Gmail, I suppose we could put a 'questionable' email into our 'draft' file and sit on it for an hour at least, allowing for some sober reflection before explaining to our boss, our inner most feelings.

allvoices

1 comment:

  1. I've been using this feature in GMail for at least 5 years. It was available in GMail Labs as an add-on, but is now apparently part of the main feature set. I've used it many times when catching a typo after pressing send, or forgetting to include something, etc.

    ReplyDelete

Your comment will appear after moderation before publishing,

Thank you for your comments.Any comment that could be considered slanderous or includes unacceptable language will be removed.

Thank you for participating and making your opinions known.